The Future is Unwritten

Here I am, sitting on my 2nd floor balcony, overlooking the back ally. My coffee is perched on the railing, the sun is out, and the temperature is about perfectly average. It’s a great way to start the day.

I have some ideas about how this day may pan out, but that future remains yet unwritten.

I watched a documentary about Joe Strummer last night with Jazzy. I saw it once before and really wanted her to see it as well. It’s a story about Punk Rock. It’s a story about the UK in the 60s and 70s. It’s a story about a man who struggled to find himself. It’s a story about rebellion, relationships, and blind ambition. Parts of it resonated with me.

Jazzy went to bed half way through the movie. When I asked her what she thought of it, she just shrugged. I remain hopeful that we can have intelligent conversations about music on a regular basis.

Musical taste is such a powerful personal expression of who we are and what we’re about. More than conversing, I want her to feel able to express herself through her musical choices. I see these types of conversations as a way to hone self confidence. She has a healthy disrespect for Top 40, which is a good start. When the wolves in high school come for her, I know she’ll be able to outsmart ’em by walking her own path.

Room 31 is due tomorrow at the LIFT Writer’s Circle. The materials for the Lieutenant Governor’s Arts Awards came in. I also have a project to finish for Images. Somehow, I’ll get through all of ’em.

Despite the busyness, I wrote 1,500 words in response to a section of friend’s book, yesterday in just under two hours. We’ve been playing this word game where I’ll type on a stream of consciousness after reading sections of her book. Sometimes the words come out rather poetically, sometimes I riff on bad memories that have been triggered, sometimes it’s just pure raw honesty that I share – just as she does in her work.

My coffee is getting cold. I never seem to make it to the bottom of my cup without this shift in temperature. Perhaps I should drink it faster? Perhaps I should use a smaller cup? I dunno. I guess it just doesn’t bother me enough to do something about it. I choose my annoyances wisely.

If today goes well, it will see me spend another two hours with Room 31. I will also finish three vignettes for the LGAA’s.

If today goes well, I will write about it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

